Home > Uncategorized > OWASP AppSec Research EU 2012

OWASP AppSec Research EU 2012

Two years ago, around February I found myself sending a mail regarding AppSec Research EU 2010. It was a mail to John Wilander , chair of the organizing committee , asking to be a volunteer for the conference. Back then I was still a M.Sc. student leaving abroad and this was more or less my only chance at attending. I had “met” John when he came to give us a lecture on Web Application security in DSV for a course I was taking at that time. In another course, the course literature included Software Security : building security in by Gary McGraw . To cut a long story short, I ended up attending the conference as a volunteer, helped around with all kinds of stuff before and during the conference days and had the opportunity to attend quite a few interesting presentations.

Fast forward to 2012 , I found myself sending another mail regarding OWASP AppSec Research. This time it was a submission for the CFP for a presentation/demo on locational privacy and cree.py, titled : “The cree.py side of geolocation. Weaponizing your check-ins. “ . Yesterday I got a reply that it was accepted. It was accepted in a conference where Gary McGraw is giving a keynote, and John Wilander is presenting his “Advanced CSRF and Stateless Anti-CSRF” talk. These two are just an example of the cool people and presentations that will be around, I just mention only these as they play a part in my story.

I feel extremely happy, humbled and privileged to be given such an opportunity. It’s not that “I’m there” or “I’m getting there” , wherever and whatever this “there” is. It’s just a small personal “victory”, a very own #WIN moment to realize that what sometime ago was just an abstract idea in my mind, became a project I will talk to people about in a conference like AppSec Research. I hope I can deliver an interesting, fun and educational talk and more importantly get to hear what other people will be presenting, mingle and get a feeling of the community. The trip to Athens will be an extra Bonus πŸ™‚

Well, see you in Greece in July !

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 22, 2012 at 9:36 am

    Aren’t you a bit sad now that you didn’t make cree.py your thesis?

    Also, how much fun July in Athens will be? 40 C? 42 C? We are gonna melt….

  2. ilektrojohn
    May 22, 2012 at 10:01 am

    Yeap, if it was my thesis project I would have (a) finished my thesis much earlier and (b) much more time to work on cree.py . But bad decisions are good lessons πŸ˜‰ On the positive side I’m preparing a paper on my thesis for submission soon so it was not all wasted time πŸ˜‰

    I’d take Athens’ 42 for 3 days over Stockholm’s 18 anytime πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment